Skip to content

Resignation letter of Kevin Tevis!

December 1, 2012

Image

(Pictured DCSO Chief Deputy John Ford)

 

Abraham Lincoln 1809 - 1865
Mrs. Bixby Letter


Executive Mansion
Washington, D.C.
November 21, 1864 
Dear Madam,
I have been shown in the files of the War Department a statement of the 
Adjutant-General of Massachusetts, that you are the mother of five sons who have 
died gloriously on the field of battle.
I feel how weak and fruitless must be any words of mine which should attempt to 
beguile you from the grief of a loss so overwhelming. But I cannot refrain from 
tendering to you the consolation that may be found in the thanks of the Republic 
they died to save.
I pray that our Heavenly Father may assuage the anguish of your bereavement, and 
leave you only the cherished memory of the loved and lost, and the solemn pride 
that must be yours, to have laid so costly a sacrifice upon the altar of 
Freedom. 
Yours, very sincerely and respectfully,
Abraham Lincoln


Caleb Hewitt
Edward Manlove
Thomas Farrell
William Mayo
John Lewis
John Martin
Melvin Fleming
Billy Stevens
Jerry Newsome

 


I come to you with much regret as I've felt I have had to resign. I have learned 
over the last 15 years that despite the actions of those that run this agency, 
that my pride was in this agency, the uniform and the badge. As I look at the 
list of those that have died wearing this uniform, those that have suffered 
grave injury in wearing this uniform, some of which I have had personal cause to 
witness and still today have nightmares about, because of gross negligence of 
this agency. As your supervisor I have witnessed the conflict within you, 
dealing with the circumstances of our employment and yet having the pride to 
stand up to do your job with honor. I have come to the conclusion that your 
pride comes from taking an oath to wear this uniform and this badge. I 
understand that is what created the resolve in me. I realize that I dedicated 
myself to this agency respecting the people who died in honor of this agency and 
those that have lost their careers through grave injury. We did not take an oath 
to this administration. We took an oath to honor those that have given their 
lives wearing this uniform, our uniform, and our badge and what it stands for. 
You have done it with great honor. As I leave, I must tell you the truth. All 
these years we have fallen for the deception of being divided, but I see you, in 
the desperation of the moment, stand together with firm integrity. As I go, you 
must understand that only united can we alter our future with strength and 
unity. 

 

It has come to my attention over the years, that the uniform you wear with such 
pride has never been worn, not a single day, by the man who claims to lead this 
agency. He has never been an officer and deliberately refuses to wear our 
uniform. He doesn't understand us but I understand you. As I leave, they can no 
longer do anything to me, but I will be there for you with all understanding. 

 

With all love and respect, God speed.


Kevin Tevis
8483 Whites Creek Pike
Joelton, TN 37080
(615) 364-5591
tillitsfixed@gmail.com

-- 
Kevin
From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. I remember when I first started at the DCSO, nigh 11 years ago. I am no longer an employee but feel some what obligated to respond to this chain of comments. I remember being inside the gymnasium at the CJC waiting for role call…it was probably my second or third day on the job. I remember standing there with several other officers waiting for our assignments and role call to finish. I heard behind me someone calling my name and when I turned around I saw an out stretched hand pointed at me. I took the hand and shook it and looked up, much to my surprise, it was Chief Ford. He called me by my full name, no he didn’t see my name badge since my back was too him, and shook my hand. Here was the chief, in my first week in a facility, shaking my hand and knowing who I was. That struck me as something important. He took the time to know my name and my face but didn’t even know if I was going to last the rest of the week. I know the sheriff’s office has it’s flaws….many of them I could point out in the years I worked their. I have worked at many different jobs in my life and I can honestly say that every place I worked had issues and I can also honeslty say that I was never fired from a single job. Before leaving the DCSO I changed positions within the department and the last position I had was answering directly to Chief Ford and I would gladley go back to answering directly to him this very day if the position and sitiation warrented it. When I recieved the position I applied for, and no there was no nepatism or croneism involved since I am not related to anyone there nor buddies with anyone in power, but was told by Chief Ford that “Congradulations you have the position, now let me tell you about your short comings that you need to work on.” he said to me.
    Yup, that was both a surprise and a smack in the face but you know what, he was right about all of it. Yes I have definite strengths but also he pointed out those things I need to work on in order to improve. I respect him for his honesty with me and he was always strait forward with me and always looked me in the eye. I couldn’t ask for more in a supervisor.

    I know I will most likely be barrated with comments about “sucking up”, even though I have nothing to gain since I no longer work for the organization. I am not arguing that the Sheriff’s Office couldn’t use some introspection, but I would like to see the people who were fired or left due to their own actions, try to do a better job. I remember when the financial crash occured and the Sheriff was told to make huge cuts, but instead of firing or laying off hundreds of people he found creative ways to save people’s jobs. Does that not count for something?

    Maybe if the people who were fired, or left due to issues of their own creation, concentrate more on fixing their own short comings then they might not be fired from their current employment? Maybe if we don’t worry so much about what the next guy is getting and worry more about our own issues then we might better ourselves in turn?

    • Ford/Frangos permalink

      Bla bla bla.. Sounds like a self post from a Ford PR person. If you truly were a deputy and enjoyed your time with the agency, then CONGRATULATIONS (that’s how you spell it) and I am happy for you. I would be naive to think that some haven’t had great experiences within the agency. However you are truly naive to think that the agency hasn’t screwed good people, and promoted idiots due to cronyism (that’s how you spell it.) You need to respect these people and their opinions. I’m MY EXPERIENCE.. Ford is a true coward.. He is power hungry, and uses the gise of a ‘military structure’ to justify his thirst. For such a tiny man why does he feel the need to break ones hand when shaking it? This is a sign of low self esteem.

  2. 💩👎 permalink

    John, a STRONG HANDSHAKE And a military uniform hanging in your closet does not make you a man. Doing what’s right, treating people fair, keeping your word, looking a man in the eyes, and being faithful to your family does. FYI

  3. I think we should change reality check to “REALITY COWARD” it is more fitting. Listening to this coward take shots at people of integrity is hilarious. I have recently watched three good men resign. Their crime ? Telling the truth when the administration tried to lie and create a cover up. Hector Medina, Kevin Tevis and Casey White. These are real men, who did not back down in the face of harassment. While people like you look for the first ass to kiss because your afraid. These men stood face to face and toe to toe against the cronies of DCSO and were NOT afraid. Daron’s e-mail about all the record request reeked of fear because he knows what is about to happen. He is terrified because he knows what’s coming down the pike. So how should you feel with your lips so tightly connected to his ass ? Just saying…..

  4. Reality Check permalink

    was Tevis drinking and being driven around by Porter when he wrote this ?

    • Paradigm Shift permalink

      The sad thing is ‘reality check’ makes less than a driver for waste management.. However carries the burden of always keeping Daron, Ford and the administrators ‘winkie’ in his mouth just to keep his low paying job. You better go march in a parade or make some signs for a councilmen or you’ll be on the chopping block next. Your comments about Mayhew being promoted because she is BLACK will be enough for the Dcso to cut ties with you. Imagine when your name, address, and proof that you posted that comment goes public? You supervise minorities however you make racist statements? Everyone in uniform is a fish swimming in a barrel… Periodically they reach in and grab one, and throw it off to the side. It doesn’t matter how loyal you’ve been, how good a person you are, how many children you have, you may be next. That’s a REALITY CHECK.

  5. Tom permalink

    If his mouth is moving he’s lying. I have never meet a bigger back stabber. You would think a military man would be a honest man. He’s suppose to be a brother but he’s a disgrace to this department and the group he belongs to. We need leaders not cowards. This man is lost and needs help.

  6. JOHN FORD IS A HUGE COWARD! He’ll look you in the face and lie then have the HR lady call you to tell you he stabbed you in the back. Then he will refuse to take your call or see you to face you. COWARD. Also why does SHEILA MORGAN make more than most officers? Why do we need a chief of corrections? Why has the DCSO legal team tripled and IA doubled? Because we are led by a MORON!

Leave a Reply

